University of California, Riverside

Office of Event Management & Protocol

Previous Hays Press-Enterprise Lecturers

Hays Lecture Setup


Celebrating excellence in journalism and featuring leading thinkers in media and communications, the Hays Press-Enterprise Lecture has been presented by The Press-Enterprise and UCR annually since 1966. It was first established by the late Howard H “Tim” Hays, then editor of The Press-Enterprise. Following the sale of the paper in 1997, his son Tom Hays endowed the lectureship and the Hays name was proudly added to the series in honor of Tim Hays.

2015 Martin Baron Executive Editor, The Washington Post
2014 Ray Suarez Host of "Inside Story," Al Jazeera
2013 Davan Maharaj Editor and Executive VP, Los Angeles Times Media Group
2012 Geneva Overholser Director, USC Annenberg’s School of Journalism
2011 Jonathan Gold Pulitzer Prize-Winning Food Critic, LA Weekly
2010 Lawrence Wright Author, Screenwriter, Playwright, Staff Writer, The New Yorker magazine
2009 Walter Isaacson President and CEO, The Aspen Institute
2008 Frank A. Bennack, Jr. Vice Chairman, Hearst Corp.
2006 Karen House Retired Publisher, The Wall Street Journal
2004 Tom Curley President/CEO, The Associated Press
2002 Gail Collins Editorial Page Editor, The New York Times
2001 Bill Kovach Chairman, Committee for Concerned Journalists
2000 Clarence Page Columnist, Chicago Tribune
1999 Gregory Favre Vice President/News, The McClatchy Co.
1998 Tom Winship Former Editor, The Boston Globe
1997 Benjamin Bradlee Vice President, The Washington Post
1996 Gene Roberts Managing Editor, The New York Times
1995 William F. Woo Editor, St. Louis Post Dispatch
1994 Tom Johnson President, Cable News Network
1993 C. Shelby Coffey, III Editor & Executive Vice President, Los Angeles Times
1992 Geneva Overholser Editor, The Des Moines Register
1991 David Broder Columnist & Political Correspondent, The Washington Post
1990 Everette E. Dennis Executive Director, Gannett Center/Media Studies
1989 James K. Batten President/CEO, Knight Ridder, Inc.
1988 C.K. McClatchy Editor & Chairman, McClatchy Newspapers
1987 Vermont Royster Editor Emeritus, The Wall Street Journal
1986 Donald Trelford Editor, The Observer of London
1985 Louis D. Boccardi President & General Manager, The Associated Press
1984 Donald E. Graham Publisher, The Washington Post
1983 Eugene C. Patterson Editor and President, St. Petersburg Times
1982 Cushrow R. Irani Chairman, The International Press Institute
1981 Richard S. Salant Vice Chairman, Board of Directors of NBC
1980 Norman E. Isaacs Chairman, The National News Council
1979 John Hughes Editor, The Christian Science Monitor
1978 George F. Will Syndicated Columnist
1977 Richard C. Wald President, NBC News
1976 Warren H. Phillips President, Dow Jones & Co.
1975 James Reston Columnist, The New York Times
1974 Elie Abel Dean, Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism
1973 Katharine Graham President, The Washington Post Company
1972 Tom Wicker Associate Editor & Columnist, The New York Times
1971 Howard K. Smith Commentator, ABC News
1970 Osborn Elliott Editor-in-Chief, Newsweek
1969 Sir Denis Hamilton Editor-in-Chief & Chief Executive, Times Newspapers Ltd. London
1968 Wes Gallagher General Manager, The Associated Press
1967 John B. Oakes Editorial Page Editor, The New York Times
1966 Louis M. Lyons Retired Curator, Nieman Foundation, Harvard University

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Related Links